Dead Rising 2: Case Zero

April 10, 2011 at 10:01 (360, Games) ()

Dead Rising was the reason I wanted to own an Xbox and like many I didn’t like the game when I first started playing it finding it far too frustrating but it grew on me and become on of my favourite games. Case Zero was released to bridge the gap between the first and second games but really just acts as a prequel to the sequel, introducing the new character and offering up a reminder of the game mechanics.

It works really well, on my first playthrough it reminded me of all the things I hated about the first game: the clunky controls (although they are better), dying and having to repeat yourself  and not really getting very far at all. The thing about Dead Rising is that you have to play it multiple times and with each playthrough you piece together a little more and eventually work out how to do it all in one run. It’s a shame that this Groundhog Day approach can’t be worked into the story (but that would be stupid) because it feels like bad game design. It seems to work though, perhaps because this “demo” only takes 90 minutes you want to play through it again and try to  bring everything together. How well it will work in the full game remains to be seen but it left me wanting to find out.

 

Leave a Reply

