A Problem With Modern Gaming

June 5, 2011 at 15:49 (Games) ()

The other day I was fortunate enough to find myself with a spare hour and I thought I’d have a quick go on Lego Rock Band. I started up the Xbox, put in the game and started assembling various drum kit parts that had been stashed away behind furniture. Before I started I made myself a drink and then, finally I was ready to start. I hit start button and had to log in to start the story mode. It was at this point that I was told an update was required to the game…

Update In Progress

For some reason, this happened twice. I think both updates were required before I could start the game which got me wondering why did the game wait until I started before checking for an update. This probably wasn’t a normal situation but the game had been loaded and showing intros and demos for around 10 minutes before I started a game. Shouldn’t the first thing the game does be check for any compulsory updates? Even if that had happened I’d still have to wait for the downloads and have more of my hour’s playing time taken up. I’m not saying updates should happen automatically but getting notifications on the dashboard or even emails to say compulsory updates need to be installed before I can play again. At least that way, if it’s a game I knew I wanted to play again I could do the download before I had a rare opportunity to play.

It’s not just the Xbox, after this I thought I’d check to see if any of my Steam games had updates…

Updating Steam Platform 31%

Leave a Reply

