Glastonbury

July 10, 2011 at 10:28 (Festivals) ()

It may seem like an odd time to write about Glastonbury but I’ve only just caught up. I took thousands of photos and the handful worth sharing are now on Flickr, I’ve nearly watched the BBC television coverage and now just need to make my way through the online content and read reviews. Perhaps I am in danger of information overload. This isn’t a review but I wanted to say something a few things about probably the greatest Festival in the world.

The BBC

I mostly love the BBC and I especially love the BBC’s coverage of Glastonbury. Thank’s to the BBC, Glastonbury felt like an important part of my life long before I ever attended. When I didn’t get tickets in the initial sale I consoled myself by looking forward to being able to watch it live for the first time in years. Yes, they only touch the tip of the iceberg covering the main stage and focussing on the bigger acts but they do give a great overview of the rest of the festival. This year they covered all three of the Pyramid stage headliners in full (or as near as that I didn’t notice)  and nobody else ever does that.

People complain about the amount of coverage and it filling up the weekend schedule. It’s one weekend if you’re not interested go and do something else. I welcome coverage of sports on TV because it gives me a break in the schedule to catch up with other things.

Then there’s the online content, great for those who were at the Festival, so much great content available on demand and this year for 30 days. I still wish it was longer but nothing lasts forever.

In the past I’ve said the Glastonbury coverage is worth the licence fee and I’m happy sticking to that statement.

The Price

Others have scoffed at the ticket price when I’ve told them. This year is was £195 which seems a lot but is excellent value for money. Five nights camping, 3 solid days of live music and other great entertainment, a programme , free cinema, circus, cabaret, theatre, poetry tents, an amazing selection of food and drink, markets, workshops, healing fields, stone circles, nightclubs, raves, Shangri-la, Kids Field. You’ll never run out of things to see and do. People don’t realise that everything (apart from food, drink and the markets) is included in the price.

The Toilets

I’ve worked in more than one office where I would regularly find toilets in worse conditions than those at Glastonbury. I avoid the ‘long drops’ , mostly because they seem too public, and stick to the PortaLoos. They’re not ideal but they are constantly cleaned out by real people (probably an awful job but greatly appreciate your efforts). I never had to queue for long and think I only saw one blocked one once getting inside the festival.

Leave a Reply

