Y34 The Final Countdown

July 17, 2011 at 17:43 (Misc) ()

There are only five more days left of my Y34 project to take a photo every day for a year. When I started nearly a year ago I didn’t know if I’d be able to keep it up but it’s been quite easy and even though the results have not been that interesting I think I may well continue. I think I’ve only cheated once, or maybe twice, when I completely forgot to take a photo and had to find an extra photo the next day. It’s been a lot harder since I started working from home but that has also encouraged me to make more of an effort to get out of the house.

It doesn’t feel like a year. I didn’t really expect anything the photos to show anything to exciting but looking back they do cover quite a lot although perhaps not always in an obvious way. There’s a few weddings, redundancy, unemployment, self employment, working from home, people moving out, a census, a referendum, three film festivals and lots of food, drink and trips to the cinema. It’s still quite surprising to me how much has changed around me and yet everything still feels the same.

I think I will continue, I like the idea of capturing the every day aspect of my life but I also have another photo project I’m keen to get started on. This one is perhaps never ending and less time demanding. I just need to find the right moment to start and hopefully that will be soon.

Y34 A Year Of Photos On Flickr

Leave a Reply

