L.A. Noire and Forbrydelsen

September 25, 2011 at 15:28 (360, Games, TV) ()

I’m still not sure if it was a good idea to be catching up with L.A. Noire and Forbrydelsen at the same time, it certainly wasn’t intentional. The number of parallels between the two are amazing and I wish I were smarter and more articulate so I could write something better about them. Despite ending up enjoying L.A. Noire it annoyed me a lot when I started playing it and unlike GTA IV and Red Dead Redemptions these annoyances never seemed to go away. The writing seemed to bother me the most, restricting you to go down one path and never be free to investigate any hunches with a nagging feeling of always getting the wrong man. In Forbrydelsen there were also many false investigation and wrong accusations but you never felt cheated like you did in L.A. Noire, the only thing making you think they’d got the wrong man is that there were still many more episodes to go. I can’t help but wonder if L.A. Noire would have been better if it was one long 20-hour case with much more depth and red herrings. Interestingly I spotted the  unlikely killer in both L.A. Noire and Forbrydelsen very early on, even if this was more to do with the narrative structure than the investigation.

If I had a spare 20 hours then I’d watch Forbrydelsen again rather than playing L.A. Noire (and in a way I will be because I have the American remake  to watch) but I am left wondering if a game with a story like Forbrydelsen could ever work.

 

Leave a Reply

