The Dark Nights Return

October 23, 2011 at 18:17 (Games, Misc) ()

I didn’t really notice October creeping up on me, not helped by the fact it was disguised as Summer. Now it’s cold, dark and wet outside and I’m full of cold so it feels like Autumn is finally here. I love Autumn for so many reasons such as the dark evenings but it’s usually when many of the best games, films and television comes out. The only thing I don’t like is the realisation that the end of the year is nigh and all those personal goals I’d given that arbitrary December deadline for seem even less likely to be met. In fact, when I saw Adam Buxton’s Bug earlier this week he said you may as well give up now and put everything back to the New Year.

Perhaps I was thinking of Buxton’s words when I went out and bought Batman: Arkham City on Friday night. Originally I had planned on getting the game but decided that however much I wanted to play it (and I really did) I just didn’t have enough time to play it. I have so many other things I want to do, including Leeds Film Festival next month and work for next February’s Keswick Film Festival website. I also should really try and read some of the books and watch the DVDs I got last Christmas and watch some of the 100 or so things I have recorded on my new Humax PVR. However when it came down to it I just couldn’t resist the game, Tesco were selling it for £30 if you spent £40 in store and so I abandoned watching the terrible Australia (it did get better, when I finished it later) and found myself driving to Tesco. I can’t remember the last time I bought a game on the day of release and so far not regretting it but I do think I really should be doing something else with my time instead of pretending to be a virtual Batman.

 

Leave a Reply

