Mark Hall

November 19, 2011 at 11:07 (Misc) ()

I was surprised to read about the sad news of Mark Hall’s death on the BBC website, not because the 75 year old co-creator of Danger Mouse had sadly passed away but because I was only just finding out. It’s fair to say that Twitter is my main source of any news, anything of great importance or interest to me is usually tweeted about by someone I follow long before I read about in the news. I’d heard nothing on Twitter and that seemed like a terrible shame.

For a long time I thought Cosgrove Hall was just a place, I imagined a big stately home where people would be drawing Danger Mouse, Count Duckula and Victor and Hugo. Much later I found out it was named after the founders,  Brian Cosgrove and Mark Hall and then I found out they were also the creative team behind Jamie And The Magic Torch, Cockleshell Bay and Charlton And The Wheelies. As a child it seemed like pretty much everything on Children’s ITV was made by Cosgrove Hall, their name coming up at the end of the credits is probably the first production company I became aware of. For me it was a revelation finding out that not only Count Duckula and Danger Mouse shared a voice but that voice was also Del Boy in Only Fools And Horses. Count Duckula was my introduction to vegetarianism and may well be one of the reasons I’ve been vegetarian for over ten years.

Mark Hall’s death is even sadder because even though him and Cosgrove retired in 2000 they reformed their company under the name Cosgrove Hall Fitzpatrick Entertainment two years ago and were planning to produce new animations. Fortunately Hall’s son Simon is intending to continue his father’s work and I hope the legacy of Cosgrove Hall lives on.

Leave a Reply

