Award Season

January 22, 2012 at 15:10 (Misc)

Award season is now under way, I nearly got up in the middle of the night to watch the Golden Globes last week but sensibly decided against it. It doesn’t sound like I missed much, the obvious winners seem to win. I was pleased that Tintin won Best Animated Film because I don’t understand all of the negative reviews. I suspect it only won to get Steven Speilberg on stage, the Globes are odd like that, so it will be interesting to see how it does at the BAFTAs. I haven’t seen Rango but from the reviews suspect more people would be happier with that taking away the prize. I don’t really have a lot else to say about the Golden Globes. My Week With Marylin seems misplaced in the Comedy or Musical category but I haven’t seen it so shouldn’t comment.

The BAFTA nominations also came out and I took these a bit more seriously. To be completely honest I wasn’t that impressed with the list. Everyone has rightly kicked up a fuss about the lack of Olivia Colman for Tyrannosaur so I guess that means nobody really saw the film.  Carey Mulligan was better in Shame than Drive but again I suspect people just haven’t seen Shame yet. I suppose the Marmite effect of The Tree Of Life explains it’s complete absence but I had hoped BAFTA would recognise it in some way. I’d hate to think that people forgot about it just because it was released before September. Nearly everything on the list has a late summer release.

I was really pleased with the outstanding début by British writer, director or producer. I haven’t seen Coriolanus but Black Pond, Submarine and Tyrannosaur were among my favourite films of 2011 and I image more worthy of the Best British Film award than My Week With Marilyn and possibly Tinker Tailor Solder Spy. I also really liked Attack The Block so it’s good to see Joe Cornish in that category as well. Really pleased that Black Pond is getting some recognition, even the Empire writers claimed they hadn’t heard of it.

Leave a Reply

