Film 2012 (so far)

July 16, 2012 at 08:00 (Film)

Somehow it’s already half way through July so I’ve already missed the mid year point where I should be mentioning the best and worst films of the year so far. Seeing as I don’t see many bad films it makes more sense to have the best and disappointing films so far:

Best

  • The Deep Blue Sea – I think this came out last year but it was the first film I saw this year and remains one of the best
  • Martha Marcy May Marlene – Amazing performances and still haunted by the ending
  • Being Elmo: A Puppeteer’s Journey – The Muppet Movie is fantastic and nearly made this list but this is the slightly better Muppet related film
  • Damsels In Distress – Apparently people love or hate this film, I loved it.
  • Moonrise Kingdom –  Completely charming
Honourable mentions: Carnage, Young Adult, Midnight In Paris, The Muppets, Avengers.

Disappointments

  • The Raid – I may have been distracted by real life but I really didn’t get anything out of this
  • Cabin In The Woods – Highly entertaining but feels like it could have been so much more with very little effort
  • 2 Days In Pairs – Still one of my favourite films of the year but if it held it together more towards the end it could have been amazing
Leave a Reply

