Best Supporting Acting

November 11, 2012 at 12:35 (Film)

Somehow it’s November; Christmas lights are on, people are tweeting about Christmas shopping and adverts on TV which means it must be time to start thinking about the end of the year. Letterboxd is my new favourite website, it allows you to keep a film diary and make lists and so I’ve already started My Best Films of 2012. In reality it’s far too early to be thinking of end of year lists and I don’t normally consider performances but last night I saw another amazing performance and thought it was strange that the two performances I have really noticed this year have both come from children. Perhaps I’m used to well known great actors just being great and don’t notice their performances and it takes a newcomer to stand out.

The first time this happened was during Looper. Everybody else seemed to be making inapproriate comparisons to other films or talking about the make up. The thing that really stood out for me was the terrifying good performance from Pierce Gagnon as Cid. Last night I saw the Danish film The Hunt and one of the many, many great things about the film was Annika Wedderkopp playing the little girl. I have no idea how anyone can get these amazing performances from children so young. The only problem with The Hunt was that she occasionally reminded me of Ramona Marquez in Outnumbered, yet another great child actor.

Leave a Reply

