July TV

August 9, 2015 at 14:10 (TV) (, )

Finished

Wayward Pines

An interesting concept although heavily influenced by many other shows. I wasn’t expecting it to go in the direction it did which should be applauded but I think it did reveal too much too soon and then was left with little to do in the later episodes.

The Good Wife

I have no idea why it took me so long to get to the end of what is arguably my favourite ongoing series, perhaps I just wanted to savour every episode. Once again I found each episode surpassing the last, frequently funnier than any comedy and such excellent writing and performances. Every minor character feels like they could be the lead in their own show which is yet another reason why The Good Wife is so great.

Not Safe For Work

Disappointing, especially as I saw somebody suggest it could be a modern day This Life – it absolutely is not. The final two episodes were a step up from the rest of the series which gives me hope for a second series but then I wonder if I would bother with so much else out there.

Empire

The most watched TV show in the US? I was glad it was only 10 episodes not because I wanted it to end but it didn’t really seem to ever go anywhere. There were plenty of good moments and Cookie is a great character but it feels very soapy at times. Perhaps it’s because I don’t particularly like the music but it never felt as good as Nashville which covers similar ground. Also the dubbing of all the music scenes was atrocious and completely distracting every time there was a song.

Orange Is The New Black

Perfectly fine but also nothing special.

Humans

Another highlight in what I’m sure is turning out to be one of the greatest years for television.

My Mad Fat Diary

A satisfying conclusion to one of the most underrated teen dramas. The first episode of this three show run was something else.

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell

More evidence for 2015 being one of the most creative and impressive years for TV

Started

True Detective

I’m only four episodes in but I think I’m enjoying this a lot more than everybody else. I failed to understand all the fuss over the first series although I did enjoy it, until the disappointing generic thriller ending. This time around it may not be doing anything new, everything feels very familiar but it’s familiar things I like and done to a high standard. Personally I thought the scene at the end of episode four was more effective that first season’s tracking shot. Looking forward to see how it continues.

The Legacy

I wasn’t sure if a second series could work and the cliffhanger on the first felt like it was tacked on to ensure they had somewhere to go. Fortunately it’s still about the characters and their relationships and continues to be just as good as the first series.

Under The Dome

Season 3 looks like it’s trying to redefine Jumping The Shark – I really have no idea what’s going on or why I’m still watching. Even worse I think if I watch much more of  Dean Norris chewing up the scenery it might start diluting my memories of Breaking Bad.

Agent Carter

Both the character and show may be my favourite Marvel thing.

Continuing (and enjoying)

  • Jane The Virgin
  • The Goldbergs
  • Last Week Tonight
  • The Daily Show
  • Pointless
  • New Girl
  • Only Connect
Leave a Reply

