August TV

September 6, 2015 at 17:08 (TV) ()

Finished

Agent Carter

I liked this from the first episode and both the character and show remain perhaps my favourite Marvel thing. I don’t think there was a weak episode in the criminally short run.

Inside Amy Schumer

For some reason I tracked down 12 Angry Men Inside Amy Schumer and it was just as great as everybody was saying. I then noticed that the first season was available on Now TV for seven more days and proceeded to make my way through them. I’m all aboard the Amy train, she’s the funniest and smartest “new” comedian I’ve seen for some time and I’m more than a little bit in love.

Murder In Successful

This had been sitting on the PVR for a while and the first episode was missing the setup explanation and featured an unknown to me reality star so it wasn’t exactly clear what was going on. The series was a bit hit and miss but at times I found it incredibly funny and a lot of it’s success depends on how great the guests are with Dermot O’Leary and Deborah Meaden being the highlights. The mystery part could be stronger (or make more sense) and it didn’t take long to notice the pattern in each episode but that repetitive nature could also be a great basis for more humour. Hopefully there will be another series with better guests.

Wet Hot American Summer

I’d never heard of the film and only found out about it when Netflix started promoting the new series. I watched the film and thought it was great and easy to see why it had become a cult favourite. I was slightly concerned that the tv series couldn’t work and remained unconvinced by the first episode or two . Somehow I settled into it and thoroughly enjoyed the ridiculousness of the rest of the series.

True Detective

Okay, I’m just going to say this – I think I enjoyed the second series of True Detective a lot more than the first. It took me a while to catch up with the first season after hearing a lot of hype (which undoubtedly negatively affected my opinion) and I did like it but I also found it a bit dull and thought the ending was terrible. S2 may not be technically as good and a lot more familiar but it was a familiar set up I loved. I loved that town, I loved the characters, I loved the Lynchian noir tone and I loved not really having any idea what was going on and didn’t care. Those amazing set pieces in episodes 4 and 6 were more impressive than that single tracking shot in the first series. My only real disappointment was the direction Rachel McAdam’s character took in the final episodes.

Shameless (US)

At the end of Season 4 I think it’s safe to say this has surpassed the original UK version although it’s hard to remember exactly when the UK version started going wrong.

The Legacy

Perhaps not as enjoyable as the first series but still great with lots of fantastic moments throughout the series.

Cordon

It may not be groundbreaking but it was enjoyable enough that I wanted to keep watching.

Started

  • Daredevil
  • The Americans (S3)

Continuing and enjoying

  • The Goldbergs
  • New Girl
  • Nashville
  • Only Connect
  • Last Week Tonight
  • Family Guy

Continuing (but only because there are only a few episodes left)

  • Under The Dome

Dropped

  • Life In Squares (ep2)

 

Leave a Reply

